Friday, October 16, 2009

I Like Death and Chronology.

So I've spent the last hour lying in the bathtub wondering about how I'd like to die and about what the way that a person dies says about them. It's not really just me being morbid, (though I'll certainly admit that I am) but more of a way to approach the task at hand.* (I've decided just now to star every cliche-style saying that I use, if I ever miss one, then point it out in a comment. I'll come up with some reward system for people who can call out missed cliches, this can be my little blog game)

I'm really quite lucky to have JaMo around, many of the good story ideas that we've got floating adrift in our group come from him, and I'm fairly sure that this one was his too. perhaps SD3K had something to do with it as well. For now I'll call the story Millionaire. I really think this is the most marketable idea that we've got, and guess why I like it so much... death. Every character dies, and that's what ties the story together. It's not like we're just using some explosion at the end to take everybody out so that we have an ending, death is the key element that keeps the story going. Also, the way we have it set up, when a person dies, they actually become more prevalent in the story.

Death is great because everyone does it, and everyone does it in this series too; it's what brings them into the story, and not because everyone is in some silly afterlife dealing with their past.

I'm having quite a bit of trouble wrapping my head around how to approach writing for this series though because of its innate structure. It's going to be a little like the movie Memento where you have to give the audience important pieces of information strategically, but I'm always trying to remind myself that being greedy with one's content just makes the reader/watcher disinterested. If anyone's got experience with that style of story-telling, I'd love to talk with you and get some advice on how to approach chronologically confusing concepts. I'll try to figure out how to insert a link to email me here, but if I can't find it and you'd like to offer your assistance, then just leave a comment or something. I'm sure there's a way to email me from my blog directly, but I can't offer directions on how to do so.

I've had this image of a machete that I saw at a Dick's sporting goods store that was probably two and a half feet long and the back side had very jagged saw teeth on it. The machete has stuck with me for a long time and I think it's pretty much the inspiration for the person that I think may be the first character in Millionaire. I was thinking to myself about ways to die and I couldn't get that machete out of my head, which brought to mind* the thought "well who would kill someone with that awesome thing?" Firstly I filtered through your average action hero types, or maybe I just envisioned Rambo over and over again. Then I decided that it would be much more interesting if a kid my age had this amazing machete. But, hacking someone down with a machete isn't everyone's forte', so he'd have to be just as brutal and weathered as Rambo, but still somehow dealing with the same issues that I have; the issues of a college student.

Perhaps this isn't the most realistic person for the Dick's machete, but it's the person that I find the most interesting, the one that speaks to me the most.

Also, I decided that I don't want to die in the bath tub.

2 comments:

  1. I don't know how I would LIKE to die, but there are two ways I definately don't want to die: falling for a long period of time or being stuck in some claustrophobic situation where I couldn't control my arms and upper body.

    These senarios would make up my own personal horror movie. A few minutes of either and I would probably be too far out of my head to notice the actual moment of death.

    So there ya go. There's my completely random confession of fear.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Dying in the bath tub maybe better than dying on the toilet, but not as memorable. Thank you Elvis Presley

    ReplyDelete